Home

When I first met Austin and his mother. I learned that he had portraits taken by another photographer earlier but the were not happy with the end result.  They were looking to me for more direction and poses. This, to me, is the hardest thing about photography.  You have to meet people for the first time and make them instantly comfortable with you…so much so, that there so ZERO awkwardness  in the photos you take.

This is when you have to take the time to converse with them, get to know them and let them know that you are there to make them look good!  All the pressure is on the photographer.  So you NOT ONLY have to think like a photographer, but jump into the role of a model and artist as well.

The pose above incorporates his love for football.  But I wanted to portray it in such away that football was part of who he is.  I remembered my 5-minute breaks during football practices, resting in the grass, using a football as my pillow.  During those four years, a football felt natural in my hand.  As a receiver, a had to become so familiar with a football that my hands naturally formed around it.  Consequently, I always had a football with me.  I used a football as a chair, a footrest, an armrest, a pillow. That is what I was going for in this pose.  The  bonus was capturing his profile, and the sense of wonder and dreaming that takes place during football practice breaks.

A man of many interests, Austin is also entering college to learn Aviation Engineering.  So the whole photoshoot was done at the Naval Aviation Museum.  We had a blast.  I can’t wait for him to see his SENIOR ALBUM!  The photo below was using a propeller as a prop.

 

 

Leave a Reply

