Home

LISTEN:  “FURTHER DOWN THE ROAD” MP3

(NOTE: This is a song that originated from my experience  learning how to “subtract” from my life.  It was recorded at home…so be nice. 🙂  It explores the sense of loss, love, struggle, sadness–but above all–hope that there is a Greater Plan. )

ABOUT THS SONG:

My friend, Leah, wrote a blog a while back.  It was about how we always want to add things to our life…but eventually we have to subtract.  It’s an unfortunate process. But we HAVE to make room for God’s plan in our life

For almost eight years, I led worship at WORSHIPonTUESDAY.  These people became my family and my life.  When God puts something like that in your heart, you give it your all…your time, your money, your life.

It was a running joke that I never really never accepted the position…I was just filling in that whole time for my friend, John. Seven years later…I can look back and see that this was all part of a journey on which God was taking me.   But what surprised me the most is that so many people would follow me on this journey, pick me up when I fall, dust me off and still allow someone this flawed to lead them in worship.  We learned how to worship, we learned how to please God and we learned how to hear His voice. That was the same Voice that told all involved with this service that it was time to end the Tuesday gathering. After a week of wandering, fear, fasting, praying, we had our last service and announced to everyone that it had been our last.

Since then, God has confirmed in my heart over and over that He was pleased with my obedience to His voice.  Though everything in me wanted to hold on to what had become comfortable and the purpose in my life.  Since then, loss has just been an everyday part of life.  And in this time when it feels like my whole world is falling apart, I can’t help but see the Hand of God making room for His plans.  So as I have had to say goodbye to so much in my life, I am looking “Somewhere further down the Road.”

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Somewhere Further Down the Road

by Robert Weston Gilliard

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

For the life of me I’ll never know,

Why you walked my one-lane road.

I never thought you’d get this far

Never thought it would be this hard

To not turn back and keep you near

But staying still is what I fear

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Somewhere further down the road.

We’ll know the answer why

I could tear our worlds apart

And to leave like this tonight

Somewhere further down the road

I’ll find you once again.

I pray that time will mend

And you will call me friend

Somewhere further down the road

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

I wont deny you’re part of me

You became the heart of me

So with each step my hand is pressed

To feel your beat inside my chest

I’ll trust you know my heart is pure

And would only leave if I was sure…

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Somewhere further down the road.

We’ll know the answer why

I could tear our worlds apart

And to leave like this tonight

Somewhere further down the road

I’ll find you once again.

I pray that time will mend

And you will call me friend

Somewhere further down the road

Leave a Reply

