Home

I will never forget the words my veterinarian told me a while back….

She had just given me some horrible news regarding my dog’s health at the time.  She explained that he was suffering from Cushings Syndrome which would cause him to age very rapidly.  Ultimately, I would have to be the one to determine at what point he was suffering too much to continue…

(Now, if you know me very well, you know that I don’t show many signs of humanity or vulnerability.)  But as my mind began racing and my dog laid his tired head across my foot in my pair of brown flip-flops, I started asking the hard questions in a “give it to me straight, doc” kind of way.  But then, as I talked my voice kept breaking and my eyes began to burn, and all my efforts to keep it in apparently weren’t fooling the vet as I saw a tear roll down her cheek.  Her answers became just as broken as my questions.

But then she said something that made the whole room fill with sunlight.  She said,

“The good news…is that TODAY you don’t have to make that decision.  Yes, he has bad days and those will continue to get worse, but TODAY, he is okay.”

How many times do we borrow sorrow from the future , when we have TODAY right in front of us?  So I did just that. I took him home and we lived out the remaining six months of his life living day to day. We both knew it was ending, but that made each day more special.

So I guess my thought today is just to live in the moment right in front of you. God gives you grace for the day, but if you are borrowing from it to solve your worries of tomorrow…you’re not going to have enough.  Just stick with TODAY.  Tomorrow will take care of itself.

Mat 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

TODAY IS THE DAY
by Lincoln Brewster

I putting my fears aside
I’m leaving my doubts behind
I’m giving my hopes and
dreams to you, Jesus

I’m reaching my hand to yours
Believing there’s so much more
Knowing that all you have
in store for me is good

Today is the day you have made
I will rejoice and be glad in it
Today is the day you have made
I will rejoice and be glad in it

I will stand upon your truth
And all my days i’ll live for you

Leave a Reply

