Home


PSALM 91: Family Resemblance
by Robert Weston G.

One of my earliest memories was being in the Piggly Wiggly Grocers (yes that use to be an actual store. lol) I was with my mom, but she had stepped across the aisle to grab something. Two strange ladies approached me, bent down and got in my face as if to inspect me.

“Well isn’t this a handsome boy!” one lady exclaimed. (I should note that as a 3 and a half year old, I had it goin’ on the ladies! 🙂 “He must look just like his daddy.” the other one chimed in.

Without hesitating, and with unexplained boldness I looked them both in the eyes and said, “No ma’am, I look my mamma.” I then walked away to find the mother I resembled so much . I was confused at their laughter; because I was undeniably my mother’s son. But as ___ years have passed, my face has changed. Yes, I still have my mom’s eyes, but my face has formed itself closer and closer to my Father’s.

What reminded me of this incident? Well, as I started meditating on the lyrics of the song and the passage Psalm 91. Suddenly, I began to see something emerge from these words. I reread it and started typing keywords that I was reading. Together, these words painted the clearest portrait of our God than anything Da Vinci has ever shown us through his art or a shroud has ever left us clues. Just listen to the words used in reference to God and His role in our life:

A PSALM 91 DESCRIPTION OF GOD
shelter (4x)
protect (2x)
mighty king
stronghold
trust
rescue
wings
faithfulness
shield
Protective wall
our vengeance
refuge
Sovereign One
devoted
deliverer
loyal
life
salvation
Pretty awesome, huh? Makes you feel at peace doesn’t it? It makes you feel like nothing in the world can harm you with God sheltering you.   BUT….Simultaneously, another portrait is being painted as well. From deep within the shadows of these words emerge a portrait of the enemy.


A PSALM 91 DESCRIPTION OF EVIL:

snare
hunter
destructive
plague
terrors
arrows
plagues
darkness
disease
fallen
harm
illness
lion
snake

So there we have it. A picture of God, and a picture of Satan side by side for comparison. This makes me ask myself some tough questions.

Do my words and actions instill peace and rest, or do they cause hurt and harm?

What about the people I surround myself with? Are they a source of encouragement and unconditional love, or do they make me feel discouraged and alone?

We WILL bear the family resemblance of our father.
Who do you resemble?
Who is your father?

2 thoughts on “PSALM91: Family Resemblance

  1. Incredible Robert… your insight has lifted my day!… Praise the Lord for your words of Wisdom put in you by the Holy Spirit!

  2. Thank you for sharing! And when you surround yourself with those who encourage, and pray for you instead of those who try to bring you down to their miserable level, you will see a world of difference! (by the way, did you know there is still a Piggly Wiggly in Florala?) LOL!!!!

Leave a Reply

