Home

bethlehemThis EP has been a series of surprises for me. Over and over, I have recorded Christmas carols I said I would NEVER do! But God gave me a fresh new vision for each of these songs: a new sound I have never heard done before. This song was no exception. While I share a deep appreciation for hymns, the message hidden within the lyrics of “O little town of Bethlehem” just always eluded me. Maybe it was the old english or the heavy poetic styling of the words.

It wasn’t until I was reading the words, instead of singing them, that I fell in love with its message of hope. Through these lyrics I could see this sleepy little town that was doing business as usual..having no idea that in its very streets, the Everlasting Light burst into life. The One who would split time into to two periods: Before Christ and After Christ. The Main Character in the world best selling book of all time.  The One who would teach us love and forgiveness. The One who would lift the weight of guilt and shame that we all silently carry before knowing who He is and what He did for us.  I HAD TO SHARE THIS MESSAGE TO THE PEOPLE OF THIS CENTURY!  I carefully and fearfully restructured, re-wrote and re-arranged the song, so the meaning was no longer hidden behind the veil of its poetry and ancient verbiage.

TIMELY FOR THIS SEASON:
This message is extremely important for the holiday season! Christmas is a joyous time for some, but it can be an exceedingly lonely, sad time to those of us who have lost loved ones. This song reminds me that no matter how alone I may feel, no matter how devastating my life may seem today…I can have hope that God is working on something BIG. I guess that is the essence of Faith: knowing that God is in control beyond what we see in front of us. Bethlehem is the perfect example of this. So this year, let’s celebrate knowing that God is at work. The pain we feel today is just birth pains of the joy we will experience tomorrow!

CREDITS AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS:
Arrangement by
ROBERT WESTON GILLIARD
Words and Music:
Inspired by PHILLIP BROOKS’ 1835 Original
“O Little Town of Bethlehem”
2015 Re-write, Chorus and Bridge
O Little Town of Bethlehem (Let the Whole Earth Sing)
by ROBERT WESTON
Copyright 2015 BMI WORK #19510516
IP#00534817640
(ISRC: TCACG1586545)

Lead Vocal/Strings/Synth/Organs/Bells/Accordion/
ROBERT WESTON
Drums/Percussion/Production by
JOSH WARD at MILTOWN STUDIOS

Acoustic/Electric Guitars/Ganjo by
NICK MORENO at MILTOWN STUDIOS

Bass Guitar by
DANIEL ORNELLAS

Mixing and Mastering by
PAUL KIMSAL at
PLAYGROUND RECORDING STUDIOS
& YES MASTERING, INC.

Photography by
ROBERT GILLIARD & MELISSA VAUGHN
at EPPICMOMENTS STUDIOS, Inc,

BGVs
LEAH TAYLOR, JOHN PAUL HOLMES,
JOSH WARD, ROBERT WESTON

Leave a Reply

